Empower Yourself for Fitness Success!

25 01 2011

Hello readers,

Welcome to my online all-around health and fitness guide for women. This blog is aimed to help college women, specifically in Ann Arbor, live a healthful lifestyle in a stressful setting.

Between late night pizza munchies and greasy cafeteria food, we all know it can be extremely difficult to stay in shape during these four years. Old university gyms crowded with meat-heads aren’t helping our case either.

The important thing to remember before reading this blog, though, is that WE ARE NOT DOOMED FOR FITNESS FAILURE! We do NOT have to gain the freshman fifteen. We do NOT have to be held captive by 4:00am pizza delivery. And most importantly, we CAN workout and have fun in Ann Arbor!

All you need for fitness success is the motivation and the basic knowledge of the ins and outs of the fitness world. I am here to help you.

I am not a fitness trainer and I am not a dietitian. But I am an avid exerciser and I have been for nearly eight years. Early in high school, I lost thirty pounds after embracing exercise and healthy eating as an important part of my life. Now, I work out every day and I immerse myself in the fitness world as much as possible. From reading fitness magazines to participating in P90X—an intense 90-day workout program—I have come to learn essential tips for maintaining a healthful lifestyle. As a vegetarian for seven years, I pride myself on eating balanced, low-calorie foods that still taste amazing, and I want to share this all with you.

Me now

Prior to losing 30 pounds

I want to provide you with everything from weightlifting tips to suggestions on how to avoid the weekend binge. I will tell you about great places in Ann Arbor that offer fun workout classes—including FREE ones. I’ll give you some of my favorite recipes and reviews of the best Comcast On Demand workouts and exercise DVDs. I will also give you tidbits such as when to replace your running shoes and how to understand your heart rate.

Most of all, I want to provide a community for females to learn and to engage. Today is the day to empower yourself for fitness success.

I want feedback from you. Let me know if there is anything you are looking for or want to see in this blog and I will do my best to provide for you. We can do this together!

Until next time,

Lizzy

Actions

Information

2 responses

28 01 2011
sbubes

Lizzie,
I think your blog is going to be very interesting to read! That is truly amazing that you lost 30 pounds in high school! I think your perspective will definitely be one that college students can relate to and will be interested in reading. I also love to work out and am healthy for the most part but always love any suggestions. I work out almost every day but definitely get bored of the same routine. I look forward to hearing your suggestions on places to work out in Ann Arbor, as well as different work outs to switch up your daily routines.

Also, I am very excited to read how you stay away from the weekend binge…always a very difficult thing to do! One idea I have for you would be to create a daily food journal. You could either show what you eat on a daily basis or maybe use one of your friends and critique their daily intake. Just a thought!

28 01 2011
funfitfearless

Yes, I was just thinking about this last night! I love the daily food journal, I used to keep one every single day for a year and just recently stopped. That will definitely have to be a post, thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

