A2 Yoga: Yoga for Exercise-aholics

10 02 2011

I didn’t believe in yoga for a long time. Yogis are crazy. It all just seemed weird to me. It didn’t seem like a real workout. You don’t sweat. You don’t work your muscles. I am much better off running on the treadmill for an hour than holding some stupid pose. Right?

WRONG. so-so-so-so-so wrong.

I’m still not a die-hard yogi. I won’t pretend to be. But it has greatly improved my fitness, it has helped me recover from injuries, and it has given me something to look forward to during my hectic weeks.

I have to admit, though, I am super picky when it comes to a yoga class. If I am going to go to yoga, I want a workout. A real workout. And let me tell you, the A2 Yoga power vinyasa classes give you just that.

The power classes at A2 yoga are amazing. They are 75 minutes long and very challenging. They also heat the room to around 80 degrees or so. Class skill ranges from the ridiculously advanced (those crazy people who can simultaneously hold both legs in the air at a 45 degree angle while doing a military push-up) to somewhat beginners. Although, I do recommend some athleticism and stretching ability. They tell you this isn’t a class for beginners–and I’d agree with that since beginners won’t be aware of common yoga poses. If you are a beginner, try a vinyasa 1 class first before moving on to the more advanced classes.

A2 Yoga

Photo by a2nia.com

You will sweat, your muscles with shake, and you’ll get a great workout. What I really enjoy is watching my skill evolve from week to week. I started out being unable to do many things, and now I can generally keep right along with the instructor. From tripod stands to one-legged splits, you will do it all in this class. Plus, you have the added benefit of clearing your mind and feeling amazingly calm afterward. Check out this WebMD article on the benefits of yoga — including increased strength, flexibility, posture, decreased stress, and the possible treatment of arthritis, asthma, and back pain.

The studio is located on Commerce Road — right off Stadium. It’s a quick 5 minute drive from my house, and by far my favorite yoga studio in Ann Arbor. (I’ve tried Center for Yoga, Sun and Moon Yoga, YMCA yoga, CCRB yoga.) Plus, drum-roll please, your first class is free! And there is a student discount. Drop-ins are $13. Pricey, but so is all yoga.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

