My Tuesday Food Diary

15 02 2011

As promised, here is my food diary from today. It was a really weird day, and this is not a perfect food diary. I will be in the library for about ten hours straight, so I had to eat kind of makeshift meals today. I brought my lunch and had to buy something from the library. Not ideal, but I did what I could under intense stress!

Breakfast: 2 eggs, scrambled. 1 Morningstar vegetarian sausage. 1/2 tbsp. ketchup. Handful of blackberries.

Calories: 245, Fat: 12g, Protein: 22g

Morning Snack: Banana

Calories: 105, Fat: 0g, Protein: 1g

Lunch: 2 slices of whole-wheat bread, 1 tablespoon of jiff natural peanut butter, 1 tablespoon raspberry preserves. Chobani strawberry banana Greek yogurt.

Calories: 505, Fat: 14g, Protein: 25.5g

Dinner: Vegetarian sushi roll. Dove milk chocolate miniature.

Calories: 520, Fat: 10g, Protein: 15g

Library Snack: Sweet N’ Salty Nature Valley Almond Granola Bar

Calories: 160, Fat: 7g, Protein: 3g

Totals: Calories: 1535 (right around my goal of 1500), Fat: 44g (under recommended amount-good!), Protein: 67g (almost double recommended amount-great!)

So again, this was a weird day for me. It’s not normal or easy to adhere to my eating goals when I am on campus all day studying. I did what I could, though. On a regular day, I would include many more vegetables into my diet. I also probably would have traded my “carb” based library snack for something with more nutritional value–maybe a grapefruit and a slice of cheese or some carrots with hummus.

But what’s important to remember is that you can still eat decently well even under stress and when you have a really busy day. Try and bring food from home when you can, and opt for the healthiest choices if you’re buying out. Just because I’m on campus doesn’t mean I have to run to the nearest pizza or sub joint!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

